Colorado Supreme Court
Office of Attorney Regulation Counsel
Promoting Professionalism. Protecting the Public.
Have you completed your registration and CLE requirements?
By ELVIA MONDRAGON
The beginning of the year brings a few important notices from the Office of Attorney Registration.
· Jan. 31 was the deadline for 2014 continuing legal education compliance periods
· Feb. 28 is the deadline for 2015 registration renewals
· CLE course accreditation forms changed last year.
Postcard reminders for registration went out last month. In case you misplaced yours, here’s what you need to know.
Attorneys have until Feb. 28 to pay their annual fees. (A 2015 fee schedule can be seen here.) A $50 penalty will be assessed for any registration received after Feb. 28. An additional $100 penalty will be assessed for registrations received after March 31. (Postmarks will not be honored.)
Attorneys whose registration renewals are received after April 30 may be subject to administrative suspension.
Prevent penalty fees and possible suspension by registering online. Lawyers can log in here with their email address and date of birth.
Lawyers can also view a webinar of the online registration system.
Attorneys with a 2014 CLE compliance period should have completed all courses by Dec. 31. If an attorney has not completed all courses by that date, he or she is subject to a $100 make-up plan fee.
The affidavit submission and fee schedule is as follows:
· A CLE course completed on or before December 31st, if it was received by the Office of CLJE on or before January 31st, no late fee.
· A CLE course completed on or before December 31st, if it was received by the Office of CLJE after January 31st, include a $100.00 late fee.
· A CLE course completed on or before December 31st, if received by the Office of CLJE after February 28th, include a $200.00 late fee.
(If programs were completed after December 31st see make-up plan instructions).
The make-up plan and fee schedule is as follows:
· Any courses completed after December 31st, if it was received by the Office of CLJE on or before January 31st, require a make-up plan be filed and a filing fee of $100.00.
· Any courses completed after December 31st, if it was received by the Office of CLJE after January 31st, require a make-up plan be filed and a filing fee of $200.00.
Skip the envelopes and stamps and easily submit affidavits online. Lawyers can log in at cletrack.com with their registration number and date of birth and simply enter the CLE course identification number. The online system also allows attorneys who’ve lost a CLE form to look up a course by name, date or sponsoring group.
CLE form changes
Forms related to CLE accreditation underwent changes last year to better help applicants understand the rules surrounding CLE courses.
Form 1 reaffirms that in order for a CLE course to qualify for accreditation in Colorado, it must deal with a subject directly related to the practice of law. The form also makes clear that any non-government agencies, such as law firms, must submit their application for the course 15 days to avoid delay or denial of accreditation.
Form 5 clarifies that teachers for CLE courses will not gain credit if the course itself is not accredited by the Colorado Board of Continuing Legal & Judicial Education.
If you have any questions about CLE form changes or the upcoming deadlines, call the Office of Continuing Legal & Judicial Education at (303) 928-7771.
Elvia Mondragon is the Clerk of Attorney Registration and CLE Regulation.